close

X: a novel

by Ilyasah Shabazz

Winner of the 2016 NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work for Youth/Teens and a 2016 Coretta Scott King Honor Book, the engaging narrative of X tells the story of a young Malcolm Little and the early years leading up to the powerful historical figure he would become -- Malcolm X. Co-authored by Malcolm’s daughter, X is authentic, gritty, and painfully real, illuminating the struggles of many African Americans during his time -- the struggle to find work, the struggle to raise a family, and the struggle to stay on the right side of the law. Though the narrative ends prior to Malcolm’s emergence as a civil rights leader, his backstory provides important historical context, establishes a timeline, and helps readers to understand the formative years of a man who would change history.

Girl About Town

by Adam Shankman

Lucille O’Malley was living in a run down apartment in New York. Now she’s Lulu Kelly, Hollywood’s newest starlet. While living back in New York, she witnessed a Mafia murder, and her glamorous new life is payment for her silence.

Freddie van der Waals is the only son of a wealthy New York businessman, but when he discovers how his corrupt father really made his money, Freddie walks away from his billions. He travels the country in search of a new identity.

When fate brings Lulu and Freddie together, they become inseparable. Both are harboring a secret past, with ties to gangsters that they wish to leave behind. Girl About Town is a tale full of 1930s history, murder, romance, and drama, perfect for fans of Old Hollywood.

Golden Boys

by Sonya Hartnett

Sonya Hartnett’s brilliant prose paired with a gripping storyline make this a must-read. Labeling Golden Boys a “young adult” novel may be a bit of a stretch due to the dark subject matter, but adults and older teens will be drawn into Hartnett’s deeply engrossing and emotionally devastating tale of the moment in a child's life when they realize that their parents are human -- imperfect and flawed -- and sometimes even terrible. Golden Boys gives a glimpse of the life of a privileged family behind closed doors, and that things are not always as golden as they seem.