close

Girl About Town

by Adam Shankman

Lucille O’Malley was living in a run down apartment in New York. Now she’s Lulu Kelly, Hollywood’s newest starlet. While living back in New York, she witnessed a Mafia murder, and her glamorous new life is payment for her silence.

Freddie van der Waals is the only son of a wealthy New York businessman, but when he discovers how his corrupt father really made his money, Freddie walks away from his billions. He travels the country in search of a new identity.

When fate brings Lulu and Freddie together, they become inseparable. Both are harboring a secret past, with ties to gangsters that they wish to leave behind. Girl About Town is a tale full of 1930s history, murder, romance, and drama, perfect for fans of Old Hollywood.

Golden Boys

by Sonya Hartnett

Sonya Hartnett’s brilliant prose paired with a gripping storyline make this a must-read. Labeling Golden Boys a “young adult” novel may be a bit of a stretch due to the dark subject matter, but adults and older teens will be drawn into Hartnett’s deeply engrossing and emotionally devastating tale of the moment in a child's life when they realize that their parents are human -- imperfect and flawed -- and sometimes even terrible. Golden Boys gives a glimpse of the life of a privileged family behind closed doors, and that things are not always as golden as they seem.

Character, Driven

by David Lubar

Character, Driven is a coming of age story with all of the typical high school cliches -- girls, teen angst, apathy -- but Lubar is no John Green. Though main character Cliff Sparks speaks in what is described as an “authentic” teen voice, others will find him vulgar and, at times, obnoxious. The humor in this book falls short, and the writing is too self-aware. Attempting to break the “fourth wall,” the narrator speaks directly to the reader, but the execution is awkward. The only redeeming factor is the unexpected ending when the story finally comes together. Overall, if you love contemporary teen fiction with a male protagonist, stick with Green’s Looking for Alaska.