close

The Memory of Light

by Francisco X. Stork

This novel opens dramatically with a suicide note written to a yet-unknown woman named Juanita. Vicky Cruz’s attempt failed, and now she finds herself in a hospital’s psychiatric ward. Feeling like a failure at everything, including her suicide attempt, Vicky believes that she has nothing to contribute by being alive. Her father is a perfectionist and a workaholic, and Vicky has given up on ever being able to compete with her overachieving older sister or perform well at their elite private school. But after time spent at Lakeview Hospital, she meets other peers struggling with mental illness and learns important lessons of acceptance while summoning a strength she never knew she had. Juanita, the family’s nanny, has been a maternal figure to Vicky ever since her mother died, and had been her one lifeline. As a result of Vicky’s treatment, the family learns healthier ways to cope with their grief, and Vicky is able to get another chance at life.

X: a novel

by Ilyasah Shabazz

Winner of the 2016 NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work for Youth/Teens and a 2016 Coretta Scott King Honor Book, the engaging narrative of X tells the story of a young Malcolm Little and the early years leading up to the powerful historical figure he would become -- Malcolm X. Co-authored by Malcolm’s daughter, X is authentic, gritty, and painfully real, illuminating the struggles of many African Americans during his time -- the struggle to find work, the struggle to raise a family, and the struggle to stay on the right side of the law. Though the narrative ends prior to Malcolm’s emergence as a civil rights leader, his backstory provides important historical context, establishes a timeline, and helps readers to understand the formative years of a man who would change history.

Girl About Town

by Adam Shankman

Lucille O’Malley was living in a run down apartment in New York. Now she’s Lulu Kelly, Hollywood’s newest starlet. While living back in New York, she witnessed a Mafia murder, and her glamorous new life is payment for her silence.

Freddie van der Waals is the only son of a wealthy New York businessman, but when he discovers how his corrupt father really made his money, Freddie walks away from his billions. He travels the country in search of a new identity.

When fate brings Lulu and Freddie together, they become inseparable. Both are harboring a secret past, with ties to gangsters that they wish to leave behind. Girl About Town is a tale full of 1930s history, murder, romance, and drama, perfect for fans of Old Hollywood.